Any Alternate Rule systems anyone would suggest?

Questions and discussions about the game system.
dragonmarkeddm

Any Alternate Rule systems anyone would suggest?

•    
  • Citation

Message par dragonmarkeddm » 02 févr. 2018, 05:37

Hello, first want to start this by saying my group and I have fallen in love with the setting of Shadows of Esteren and finished an over a year long campaign about five months ago. Currently we are running another game, Eclipse Phase, but everyone would like to return back to shadows next. With one exception....my players weren't big fans of the rule system and wish to change it to something else.

I've been racking my brain for several months now trying to decide on another rules system that still fits the "feel" of Shadows. Some like fate core seem almost too over the top or "pulpy" to fit the mood of shadows. 5E D&D i think would take a lot of work to convert to classes that weren't so flashy or magical. I've thought about Fantasy Flights new Genesys generic system, but the flashy colored dice and symbols seem to..."bright" for lack of a better term to fit the mood.

Any suggestions on other game systems that may fit the feel of the setting?

Pierstoval
Web developer

Re: Any Alternate Rule systems anyone would suggest?

•    
  • Citation

Message par Pierstoval » 02 févr. 2018, 10:03

There have been some thinking, both internally and here in the french forums, to port the Esteren system to D&D5, based on the SRD, but as you say it's a really hard task.

Some folks talked about the system from Symbaroum, but I don't know it, and can't give any advice on it :D

FantomPencil

•    
  • Citation

Message par FantomPencil » 02 févr. 2018, 12:50

When I read the rules for SoE they reminded me - a lot - of Chaosium's Pendragon system - which is a variant of the BRP engine that powers Call of Cthulhu. And Runequest.